Ah...it's that time of year. I have never understood why the Wizard of Oz always plays around Christmas time. It's not a Christmas movie. But, for some reason I always get a warm feeling when I watch it. I remember always going to my Mema and Papa's house to watch the Wizard of Oz when I was a child. We would all fight over the bouncy floor pillow to sit on, then we would gather around the old console television to watch. I was always in awe when Dorothy landed in Oz and everything was in color. Guy says the munchkins used to freak him out. Not me. I always thought they were so cute. It's so funny to watch it now and be able to tell how the characters on the farm are actually the characters in Oz. I remember the first time I figured that out. I was surprised that I hadn't figured it out before. It seemed so obvious.
And in the beginning when she visits the gypsy man. When I was little it seemed so innocent. Now I think wow she sure was lucky he wasn't a creepy pedophile. I know that's sick, but in this day and age I can't help but think of things that way. Maybe it's because I'm a mom now.
Anyway, tonight my family and I gathered aaround the tv to watch the Wizard of Oz tonight and thoroughly enjoyed it. Emilee has decided she wants to be Dorothy next Halloween. Then she proceeded to tell us all what characters we would dress up to be along with her. I would be Glenda the good witch, she wants Chele to be the Wicked Witch of the West, and Luke can be the Scarecrow, Guy is the lion, Caleb can be a munchkin because "he is little like them". And last but not least Annabelle, our shih tzu, will be Toto. We all giggled when we heard who the Wicked Witch would be. Sorry Chele!
I hope you all have a Merry Christmas!!
No comments:
Post a Comment