Thursday, October 30, 2008

"Surprise" at Walgreens

Well...things are finally getting back to normal around here. (That is if you call having your 4 year old throw up in the local Walgreens normal). Both Fall Festivals have come and gone and both were great successes, though I can only take partial credit for one of those. And the Pumpkin Patch has finally closed. I was both happy and sad to see it go. It really was fun even though it was a lot of work. We made a good amount of money for mission projects around the church and reached the community in a new way. It was a definite success!

Getting back to the 4 year old throwing up at Walgreens...Emilee woke up this morning and was moving slow and acting very tired. I just figured it was because of the long day we had yesterday. When she remembered that it was "Let's Pretend Day" at school she perked up real quick. So we got dressed in our previously mentioned costume and headed off to school. She started acting sleepy again in the car, but she happily got out and ran in to school because she was excited about the party before lunch.

So I dropped her off and headed off to work. About 20 minutes later I got a call from her school saying that she had thrown up a little, but she had eaten a cracker and insisted that she felt better and really wanted to go back to class. Since she didn't have a fever the teacher said it would be okay if she did, so I decided to leave her there until the party. When I got there at 10am she looked sick. I tried to get her to leave, but she started crying and begged to stay, so I let her stay for a few more minutes. She played a few games and then really started to look tired. Luckily when I mentioned leaving again she didn't argue. She just wanted to make sure that I got all of her treats before we left.

We got home and she layed down and went to sleep. I woke her up a little later to give her the last of our tylenol, and she promptly went right back to sleep. She woke up at about 2:30pm asking if she was sick. When I told her she was she looked thrilled. I had to chuckle...she was happy to be sick...she's a strange one. Anyway, we got ready to go pick up Luke and go by Walgreen's to get some more tylenol. She was fine all the way until we got out of the car at the store. She was beginning to look sick again, so we rushed inside so that I could get her home quickly to lie down again.

Never rush a child who looks sick!! We were halfway through the store when I heard a wierd burp come out of her. I asked her if she was okay and she just looked up at me and shook her head no. Then it happened...she threw up right there in the middle of Walgreen's. Luke was completely grossed out. After she threw up she looked better and said she felt better, so we got someone to clean it up (it was really only water). We picked up our medicine and got the heck out of there. We've been home ever since and she seems to be doing okay except for the fever that she is running. It's not to high, and that's good. She is concerned about missing trick or treating tomorrow, so we may be going to the doctor in the morning to see if it's something we can treat. My hunch is that it's a virus, but you never know.

Sorry if I grossed anyone out. But that was my day...wanna trade?

No comments: